• A number of communities were declared disaster areas by the Government of Suriname on 25th May after experiencing widespread flooding which began in March 2022
  • The districts affected were Brokopondo, Sipaliwini, Marowijne, Para, Saramacca, Coronie and Nickerie, which are all located in the interior and Southern sections of the country.
  • Following the government’s declaration on May 25th, an Inter-Ministerial Crisis Team was set up to deal with the crisis and provide assistance to the affected families. The team comprises six working groups: Shelter, Security, Health, Finance, Media and Agriculture.
  • The outlook by MET officials is for above-normal rainfall between the months of June to August 2022 and this has created major concern about continued flooding, particularly in the already affected communities.
  • Rising water due to heavy rainfall in Upper Suriname (on the southern side of the Afobaka Lake) has resulted in a number of villages in the area starting to flood.

Click HERE for full report.