Head of National Sub-Committees meet to report on their State Of Readiness

Kingstown, Saint Vincent & the Grenadines, June 28, 2012 (NEMO) - The Heads and Deputies of the National Sub-Committees of the National Emergency Management Organisation (NEMO) met yesterday to report on the state of readiness of their Sub-Committees to face the 2012 Atlantic Hurricane Season and other Emergencies.


Director, NEMO, Howie Prince in addressing the meeting reminded the members of the different Sub-Committees that four named stormed were already formed in the Atlantic before the end of June and it only takes one of the predicted 9 -15 named storms to make it an active hurricane season for St. Vincent and the Grenadines; hence the reason why it is important to ensure that the country is ready to face an impending hazard.

During the meeting, Deputy Director, NEMO, Michelle Forbes set the pace with a report on the activities of the organisation in 2011 and the challenges faced. This was then followed by a report from the Chairperson of each Sub-Committee, looking at their Committee’s state of readiness, the gaps and challenges. All Heads of Sub-Committees present reported that they were fairly ready to provide the necessary services should the country be impacted by any event.

The meeting was held at NEMO’s Conference Room.


There are ten (10) National Sub-Committees of NEMO, chaired by Senior Public Savants:

Public Information and Education -   The Director of the Agency of Public Information - Chairperson
Damage and Needs Assessment -     The Director General of Finance and Planning - Chairperson
Transport and Road Clearance -       The Engineer, Roads Division - Chairperson
Emergency Supplies -                     The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry responsible for Trade - Chairperson
Shelter and Shelter Management -   The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry responsible for Education - Chairperson
Health Services -                              The Chief Medical Officer - Chairperson
Emergency Telecommunications -    The Telecommunications Officer - Chairperson
Search and Rescue (Land/Sea) -       The Commissioner of Police - Chairperson
Voluntary Services -                         The Director of Social Development, Chairperson
Rehabilitation and Reconstruction - The Permanent Secretary in the Ministry responsible for Works - Chairperson

CDEMA Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency. Resilience Way, Lower Estate, St. Michael Tel: (246) 434-4880, Fax: (246) 271-3660
Back To Top