The CDM Coordination and Harmonization Council (CDM CHC) was established in December 2007 with the following key functions:

  • The provide overall guidance to CDM development and implementation.
  • To facilitate the effective coordination and harmonization of the CDM implementation process.
  • To facilitate learning and knowledge management of CDM among key stakeholders.

Specific Roles and Responsibilities of the CDM Coordination and Harmonization Council

  • Contribute to and provide recommendations for the development and implementation of a CDM monitoring and evaluation framework.
  • To consider reports on CDM implementation and provide guidance towards sustainability.
  • Identify and Provide recommendations for the integration of ongoing initiatives as well as planned initiatives that will support the achievement of the outcomes enshrined in the enhanced CDM Strategy
  • Discuss and address issues and opportunities to further good governance of the CDM
  • Nurture opportunities for synergies between development partners, participating states, representatives of the private sector, civil society and other relevant stakeholders responsible for the mainstreaming of the CDM strategy in development planning.
  • Provide policy guidance for the maintenance of the CDM database to ensure effective sharing of CDM knowledge.
  • Share annually with the CDM Programming Consultation meeting, progress on CDM implementation
  • Identify a technical committee to support the planning process for the CDM Conference

The CDM Coordination and Harmonization Council comprise development partner representatives, sector leaders, participating states and private sector. The group will include:

  1. Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency (Chair),
  2. Caribbean Development Bank (CDB),
  3. Canadian International Development Agency (CIDA),
  4. United Nations Development Programme (UNDP),
  5. United States Agency for International Development (Development Arm and OFDA),
  6. United Kingdom Department for International Development (DFID),
  7. European Union (EU),
  8. CARICOM Secretariat,
  9. Organization of American States (OAS),
  10. Organization of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS),
  11. University of the West Indies (UWI),
  12. Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO),
  13. Caribbean Tourism Organization (CTO),
  14. Pan American Health organization (PAHO),
  15. Caribbean Electric Utility Services Cooperation (CARILEC),
  16. Caribbean Policy Development Centre (CPDC),
  17. United Nations Development Fund for Women (UNIFEM),
  18. Caribbean Community Climate Change Centre (CCCCC),
  19. Caribbean Association of Industry and Commerce (CAIC),
  20. Four representatives of CDERA Participating States – one representative from each sub-region.
Back To Top